British period drama chronicling the story of the Crawley family and their servants in the early Twentieth Century.

  • 9 part series, including the Christmas special, for ITV.

  • According to Julian Fellowes, the parts played by Hugh Bonneville, Brendan Coyle, and Maggie Smith were written for the actors that play them.

  • In 2012, the show became the most nominated British TV series in the history of the Emmys, with 16 Emmy nominations at the 64th Primetime Emmy Awards.

  • Episode #2.2 (25 September 2011) is a credit only. Brendan did not appear in that episode.

"Downton Abbey: A chat with the Earl of Grantham, John and Anna Bates"

By Rob Salem/The Star

Hugh Bonneville stands up at the end of the press conference and, in front of several hundred journalists, publicists and PBS executives, rips open his shirt to reveal his chest...

Downton Abbey last day on set

Downton Abbey (2010) (TV Series)



John Bates


Series 1 - 6 (26 September 2010 -December 2015)


Julian Fellowes

Brian Percival, Andy Goddard, Brian Kelly, David Evans, Ben Bolt, Ashley Pearce, James Strong, Jeremy Webb, Catherine Morshead, Edward Hall, Philip John

Liz Trubridge

Production Company: 
Carnival Films

Additional Cast:
Hugh Bonneville, Jim Carter, Phyllis Logan, Elizabeth McGovern, Lesley Nicol, Maggie Smith, Laura Carmichael, Michelle Dockery, Joanne Froggatt, Rob James-Collier, Sophie McShera, Siobhan Finneran, Dan Stevens, Penelope Wilton, Allen Leech, Jessica Brown Findlay, Kevin Doyle, David Robb, Amy Nuttall, Ed Speleers, Matt Milne, Lily James, Cara Theobold, Myanna Buring

 Available to purchase or rent

Downton Abbey Series 6 Trailer.

"Downton Abbey actors admit their mega stardom does have its down sides"

By Emma Pietras/Mirror

“I remember once somebody came up to me in the middle of a restaurant during the first series,” actor Brendan Coyle says...

  • Downton S2 Interview8:33


 Series 1


Originally aired 26 September 2010 in the UK.  The first series did not include a Christmas Special, concluding its run on 7 November 2010.

Series 2


Premiered in the UK on 18 September 2011 and finished on 6 November 2011.  The Christmas special aired on 25 December 2011.  Broadcast in the U.S. beginning on 8 January 2012.

Series 3


Premiered on 16 September 2012 in the UK and finished 4 November 2012. The Christmas Special aired on 25 December 2012. Ran in the US beginning on 6 January 2013.

Series 4



Set six months after the events of S3 Christmas Special.  Premiered in the UK on 22 September 2013.  In the US, the series returned Sunday, 5 January 2014 for eight consecutive weeks, with its finale on 23 February 2014.
Series 5

The fifth series began airing  in the UK on 21 September 2014, with the Christmas Special airing on 25 December 2014. It aired on PBS in the United States beginning on 4 January 2015.
Series 6
The sixth series premiered on 20 September 2015 in the UK and on 3 January 2016 in the United States. This series was the last, and the 2015 Christmas special the finale.

Downton Abbey Series 5 Trailer.

© Nicky Wilkinson

The drawings on this page are used with permission. All drawings are the exclusive property of Nicky Wilkinson.
The images may not be reproduced, copied, transmitted or manipulated without written permission.

See more at Original Graphite Drawings.

Downton Abbey Series 4 Trailer.
Downton Abbey Series 2 Trailer.
Downton Abbey Series 3 Trailer.
Downton Abbey Series 1 Trailer.